student at awards ceremonyThe 15th Annual Student Recognition and Awards Ceremony was held on Thursday, May 12, 2016 in the Theater from 4:00 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. With over $305,614 in scholarships awarded this year for Skyline College, students waited with excitement and anticipation to receive their awards. Over 293 awards were presented at this year’s ceremony.

Professor Danielle Powell served as the Mistress of Ceremonies to honor individual student achievements. In addition to academics, students must also show involvement in leadership and community based activities.

Dr. Regina Stanback Stroud, President of Skyline College remarked that the generosity of kind individuals in our community who believe in future generations is highly evident. Many of the students honored ranged from, working parents, transfer students, and Veterans all with a purpose to give back to their communities and to make a difference.

The message of the awards ceremony was simple, “To pay it forward,” stated Gus Petropoulos, President of the San Mateo Community College Foundation Board.

The newest scholarship that was added this year is the Kruttschnit Aspire Scholarship Program (KASP). This scholarship awards approximately 30 students annually districtwide to the College of San Mateo, Cañada College and Skyline College with the possibility of renewal for a second year. This is the largest donation in the Foundation’s 50 year history. Nine of this year’s recipients were Skyline College students.

The prestigious $20,000 Karl S. Pister scholarship was awarded to Pricsilla Elizabeth Sanchez Peña at Skyline College, who will complete her undergraduate studies at University of California, Santa Cruz. The scholarship provides $20,000 over two years, and assistance in securing additional funding, to a transfer-eligible student who shows exceptional achievement despite adverse socio-economic status, has demonstrated commitment to assisting and improving the lives of others, and would not otherwise be able to attend the University of California, Santa Cruz due to financial need. This highly competitive scholarship is awarded to only 13 students nationwide.

Many highlights of the evening included those receiving community awards. The San Bruno Community Foundation honored Leitu Tapaku with the Crestmoor Neighborhood Memorial Scholarship.  Dennis Zheng, ASSC President was also awarded the President’s Leadership Award.

The ceremony was followed by a beautiful reception held in Building 6 where award recipients and their families had a chance to thank donors for their kindness and generosity.

Article by Eric Imahara