The Student Recognition and Awards Ceremony was held on Thursday, May 10, 2018 in the Theater from 4:00 p.m.-5:30 p.m. Over 321 scholarships were awarded to Skyline College Students totaling more than $230,370. The students waited with excitement to open their scholarship envelops in anticipation to discover the amount of their scholarship award.

Dr. Angélica Garcia, Vice-President of Skyline College Student Services served as the Mistress of Ceremonies to honor individual student achievements. Interim Executive Director, Tykia Warden, of the San Mateo County Community Colleges Foundation recognized the generous support from all of the foundation members. Without their support many of the scholarships would not be possible.

Name readers Tia Holiday, Program Services Coordinator, Professor Melissa Komadina and Professor Nate Nevado announced the honorees. Many of the students that were recognized ranged from working mothers and transfer students, to those returning to workforce and veterans.

Highlights of the evening included the distribution of the local community awards:

The San Bruno Community Foundation honored Majourie Quintanilla, Martha Marquez Ramirez and Vincent Ramsay with the Crestmoor Neighborhood Memorial Scholarship. This award honored those affected by the gas pipeline explosion in 2010.

The Karl S. Pister Leadership Opportunity Award from University of California, Santa Cruz is only given to 13 recipients’ annually. This year’s award winner was Rachelle Lamb who gave an inspirational speech about her family as well as her time here at Skyline College.

Leandro Torres Mantilla, ASSC President gave closing remarks. The ceremony was followed by a beautiful reception held in the Fireside Dining Room where award recipients and their families got to thank donors for their kindness and generosity. We would also like to thank everyone for their continuous support to help students succeed in their endeavors.

Article by Eric Imahara | Photo by Zaw Min Khant

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *