After much review, the Chancellor’s Cabinet has selected Andy Casas Resendiz as Skyline’s student nominee for the 2024 Student Leadership Award. Andy is a Peer Leader for the Promise Scholars Program and President of the Black and Brown Scholars Club at Skyline. In addition, he serves as a fellow through the Bay Area Entrepreneur Center, which connects Skyline students with local business districts to help with promotion and activation.

The 2024 Student Leadership Award recognizes and celebrates community college student leaders across California. As part of the nominee search, SMCCD allowed each of the three campuses to determine student nominees to be reviewed by the Interim Chancellor Moreno and Chancellor’s Cabinet. Upon this, one student nominee from each college would be forwarded to the California Community Colleges Board of Governors representatives, the Student Senate for California Community Colleges, and the Chancellor’s Office. Nominees are evaluated based on their demonstration of Vision 2030, leadership abilities to students at their institution, and their commitment to serving their broader community. The Student Leadership Award was established through a resolution at the May 2020 Board of Governors meeting. The annual award recognizes community college student leaders with the highest commitment to leadership and the Vision for Success. Nominations are submitted from college administrators, classified staff, faculty, or students. Representatives select award recipients from the California Community Colleges Board of Governors, the Student Senate for California Community Colleges, and the Chancellor’s Office. Up to three award recipients will be selected, announced, and honored at the April 5 – April 7, 2024, Student Senate for California Community Colleges Spring General Assembly, receiving a $1,250 cash and commemorative certificate.

Congratulations to Andy and the student nominees from the College of San Mateo and Cañada College, who were recognized at the Regular Board Meeting on Wednesday, February 28, by the Board of Trustees, Chancellor, district administration, faculty, and staff. We wish you well in the next process of the award selection.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *