Jessica LopezEvery year, the Academic Senate selects one or more recipients of the Meyer Excellence in Teaching Award. This award was established by former SMT faculty Phil Meyer to honor the contributions of faculty in their first five years of hiring who demonstrate excellence in teaching, on/off campus activities, and overall collegiality. Last year’s recipient was Jessica Lopez Jimenez.

Nominations may be made by faculty, staff, or administrators. Multiple nominations for the same people or multiple people will be accepted. The Academic Senate will select a winner of the award at its May 9th meeting and will announce the winner at the May 16th End of Year Celebration.


The following faculty members are eligible for the 2014 Meyer Excellence in Teaching Award:

Year Hired


2010 Stephen Fredericks
2010 Tina Watts
2011 Amber Steele
2011 Carmen Velez de Jesus
2011 Christopher Gibson
2011 David Hasson
2011 Edmund Yee
2011 Zachary Bruno
2012 Jessica Lopez Jimenez
2012 Melissa Matthews
2012 Sarita Santos
2012 Nathan Jones
2012 Jesse Raskin
2013 Carina Antilla-Suarez
2013 Amir Esfahani
2013 Paul Bridenbaugh
2013 Julia Johnson
2013 Kym Jackson
2013 Tammy Calderon
2013 Carmen Richardson
2013 Bruce Greenstein
2013 Paula Silva
2013 Robert Williams
2013 Serena Chu-Mraz
2013 Younga Choi
2013 Phillip Williams
2013 Michelle Hawkins
2013 Adam Windham
2013  Ijaz Ahmed

Nominations may be made by filling out the nominations form sent out in email, also available for download here under “Other Vital Information.”

Please send all nominations to Leigh Anne Shaw at or Nick Kapp at Thank you for acknowledging the hard work that our new hires do.