The Skyline View wrapped up the semester with several wins under their collective belts. First, current Editor-in-Chief Steven Rissotto was honored with Second Place as the Associated Collegiate Press’s Reporter of the Year for Two-Year Colleges.

The semester’s good news continued at the Journalism Association of Community Colleges Fall Conference held virtually Nov. 5-7, 2021 where the publication won a series of awards, most notably General Excellence awards for both Online Journalism and Print Journalism.

At the event, former TSV Features Editor Christian Carlo Ceguerra won several individual awards, namely Third Place for Inside Page Layout, Fourth Place for Photo Illustration, and an Honorable Mention for Environmental Portrait.

Former staffer, Hunter Feiner, won Fourth Place for Editorial Cartoon. Former Editor-in-Chief John Harrison picked up a First and Third Place for Student Designed Ad. Former Opinions Editor Marco Milani one First Place for Informational Graphic, as well as First Place for Photo Illustration. Staff collected Third Place for Front Page Layout and Third Place for Editorial. And finally, former staffer Antonio Maffei earned a Fourth Place for Webcast/Broadcast News.

The Skyline View also earned an Excellence in Writing badge from School Newspapers Online’s Best of SNO program. To do so, they had to earn at least three stories with Best of SNO designations. Current staffers Features Editor Anoush Torounian, Editor-in-Chief Steven Rissotto, and Reporter Derian Lopez all wrote stories that met the Best of SNO standard this semester.

Finally, the program was just awarded a $15,000 grant from the California Humanities Emerging Journalist Fellowships, which will offer several students in the spring the opportunity to be mentored on some larger journalism projects.

Article by Nancy Kaplan-Biegel, Adviser to The Skyline View


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *