The Skyline College Strategic Planning and Allocation of Resources Committee (SPARC) met on Thursday, May 13, 2021 for the last meeting of the academic year.

Vice Presidents Newin Orante, Jennifer Taylor-Mendoza and Eloisa Briones and Dean Rolin Moe co-presented the proposed expenditure plan for the federal HEERF II (Higher Education Emergency Relief Funds) institutional support funds. The plan encompasses several areas including student services support, technology investments, and instructional initiatives.

Additional details can be found here.

Along with Paul Cassidy, Finance and Operations Manager, Tri-chair Briones presented the district Tentative Budget for Fiscal Year 2021-2022, noting that the impacts of the COLA on the college site allocation has not yet been determined by the District. The Adopted Budget will account for these adjustments during the summer.  Please see link here.  The committee voted to recommend the proposed FY21-22 status quo Tentative Budget to the College Governance Council.

Tri-chair Academic Senate Leigh Anne Shaw provided updates by the Participatory Governance Task Force. As part of an effort to reclassify committee work to reflect their functions more accurately moving forward, committees may be recategorized as a work-group or a task force.

The Committee expressed appreciation and well wishes to both Tri-chair Briones who will be retiring in December and Tri-chair Shaw who will be on sabbatical next year.

Vote to recommend to CGC that the recommendations of the CPR Redesign Task Force be accepted and implemented.

The next SPARC meeting will be held on August 26, 2021 from 2:10 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

For additional information, please see

Article by Judy Hutchinson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *