Beta Theta Omicron president Mei Ling (Karen) Lai received the Distinguished Chapter Officer award for her work leading the chapter to five-star status. Chapter Officers are nominated by their chapters and are chosen by a panel of judges based on demonstration of leadership, promotion of Honors in Action, and enthusiasm for the Phi Theta Kappa Hallmarks (Scholarship, Leadership, Service and Fellowship).


Chapter officer Janah May Oclaman received the Regional Distinguished Scholar award. This award is based on GPA, breadth of coursework, having no Ws, and an essay on the Honors Study Topic: “How the World Works.” Janah has a 4.0. Her essay was on Regenerative Medicine.

Article by Dr. Christine Case