Our Skyline College Academic Senate is still accepting nominations for the Meyer Excellence in Teaching Award. The deadline for submitting nominations is Monday, May 3rd. Details for submitting nominations are listed below.

The Meyer Award is an monetary award established by SMT faculty member, Professor Phil Meyer, to be given at the end of the academic year to a colleague who has been a full-time Skyline College faculty member for no more than five academic years. This award seeks to honor and celebrate  excellence in the classroom—the primary criterion for this award. Other criteria include departmental participation, student activities beyond the classroom, and overall collegiality. This prestigious award acknowledges the hard work of our full-time faculty colleagues in the beginning of their tenure at Skyline College. Since we did not award a Meyer Award recipient last year (…global pandemic), this year, eligible full-time faculty will include those from 2016.

Skyline Faculty Members Eligible for the Meyer Award


Brianna Clay, Kim Davalos, Rika Yonemura-Fabian, Jarrod Feiner, Nicholas Langhoff, Soledad McCarthy, Regina Mitchell ,Lucy Perez Jovel, Carlos Romero, Bianca Rowden-Quince, Cassidy Ryan, Gabriel Saucedo, Erinn Struss


Nicole Porter, Alberto Santellan, Jessica Truglio, Miranda Wang, Kenyatta Weathersby, Kim Saccio-Kent, Pia Walawalkar


Yancy Aquino, Lindsey Ayotte, Vincent Chandler, Perry Chen, Jing Folsom


Athena Nazario, Ame Maloney, Emily Hein, Janice Sapigao, Kenny Gonzalez, Katie Hern. Jenny Le


Andrea Fuentes, Mandy Lucas, Christina Shih, Beatriz Qura del Rio, Christopher Watters, Felicia Mazzi, Kolo Wamba, Shaun Perisho, Herlene Grace Beltran


Joseph Adams

Kathy Zarur


Nomination Specifics:

To nominate a faculty member for the Meyer Excellence in Teaching Award, refer to the list of eligible candidate above and submit the nomination form. Share how the nominee demonstrates “excellence in the classroom”, i.e. innovative teaching techniques, supporting students, excellence in other areas on/off campus, and overall collegiality.


Nominations are due by Monday, May 3rd and may be made by any administrator, faculty, or staff member of the Skyline College community.


The Professional Personnel Committee will review all of the applications received and make a recommendation to Academic Senate for the official Meyer Excellence in Teaching Award. If you have any questions, feel free to reach out to Bianca Rowden-Quince, Professional Personnel Committee Chair at rowdenquinceb@smccd.edu.


Article by Bianca Rowden-Quince

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *