induction ceremonyWith over 200 friends and family in attendance, 141 students from Skyline College, 86 from CSM, and 98 from Cañada College were inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society for the 2017-18 academic year. Members must have a minimum GPA of 3.5 and 12 degree-applicable units. On April 13, Beta Theta Omicron, the Skyline College chapter, hosted the induction ceremony for new members of Phi Theta Kappa from the three SMCCCD colleges. It is a tradition to alternate the induction ceremonies between the three chapters. Skyline College President Regina Stanback Stroud gave the keynote address and commended members on their academic achievement.

Dr. Stanback Stroud encouraged each chapter to tackle important societal issues for their 2018 Honors in Action project on Transformation: Acknowledging, Assessing, and Achieving Change. Professor Paul Spakowsky read the names of new members as each came forward to receive the symbolic candle and flower. Beta Theta Omicron awarded honorary membership to Dr. Stanback Stroud, Stephen Fredricks, Kylin Johnson, and Nadia Tariq for their continued support of Chapter activities. Some of the new Skyline College Phi Theta Kappa members are shown in the photo.

Article by Dr. Christine Case | Photos by Xiaowen Cai and Dr. Christine Case

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *