end of year celebrationCongratulations to Jesse Raskin & Jessica Hurless on winning the 2017 Meyer Excellence in Teaching Award!

From numerous nominations, the Academic Senate chose these two nominations because of their outstanding commitment to their students’ success.  Both professors invest their time and attention beyond classroom hours, supporting their students in extra curricular activities, engaging their students with innovative teaching techniques, and supporting their colleagues with their extensive work on numerous committees and work groups. We were honored to celebrate these two faculty members at the End of Year Celebration.

Skyline Academic Senate accepts nominations for an award to be given at the end of the academic year to a colleague who has been a full-time Skyline faculty member for no more than five academic years. This monetary award was established by SMT faculty member, Professor Phil Meyer, to celebrate excellence in the classroom—the primary criterion for this award. Other criteria include departmental participation, student activities beyond the classroom, and overall collegiality.  Nominations may be made by any administrator, faculty, or staff member of the Skyline community, in March.

Article by Amber Steele | Photo by William Nacouzi