Photo: (Back row from left) Jose Campos, Christine Case, Irene Yim, and Andrea Gabriel. (Front row from left) Jaimelynn Alvarez, Deanna Badong, Elena Gochez, and Twinkle Lok.

Skyline College’s Beta Theta Omicron chapter of Phi Theta Kappa received several awards at the honor society’s 2014 international convention held April 24-26 in Florida. Over 4,000 students from 1,300 chapters attended the convention. Beta Theta Omicron received the Honors in Action Theme Award, the Honors in Action Award, and the 2014 Distinguished Chapter Award. Awards are based on the chapter’s Honors in Action project. The project must address the Honors Study Topic (The Culture of Competition) and must include scholarly research as well as a service component. Chapter members write a 2600-word essay describing their planning process, literature review, the project and implementation, and results. During 2013, Beta Theta Omicron mapped and analyzed an invasive plant on Sweeney Ridge.

The chapter vice-president of Operation, Jaimelynn Alvarez won the Distinguished Chapter Officer Award. Distinguished Chapter Officers must be nominated by their chapters through the Hallmark Awards application process and are chosen based on a student’s demonstration of leadership, promotion of Honors in Action, other engagement in the Society and enthusiasm for the Hallmarks of the Society (Scholarship, Leadership, Service and Fellowship). They were selected by a panel of judges from more than 600 nominees internationally.

Article by Christine Case