The Academic Senate met on February 18 and March 4, 2021. Here are highlights from the meetings.

Screening Committee Approvals: The following faculty were approved to serve:

  • Cosmetology: Cassidy Ryan White (COSM Faculty), Chair;  Carmen Richardson (COSM Faculty); Tammy Calderon (COSM Faculty)
  • Engineering/Computer Science:  Nick Langhoff (ENGR/COMP Faculty), Chair Jenny Le (STEM Center Counseling Faculty);  Denise Hum (MATH Faculty); Norm Del Prado (NETX Faculty)
  • Biology:  Christine Case (BIOL Faculty), Chair Yancy Aquino (BIOL Faculty) Alice Erskine (SURG Faculty) Kenyatta Weathersby (MATH Faculty)
  • Counseling: Melanie Espinueva (COUN Faculty), Chair; Alberto Santellan (COUN Faculty); Beverly Muse (Discipline Expert)
  • Geography: John Ulloa (HIST/ANTH Faculty), Chair; Susan Mahoney (GEOL/GEOG Faculty – Cañada College), Discipline Expert; James Wong (HIST Faculty, previously taught GEOG); Carlos Colombetti (PHIL Faculty)

Statements of support:  The Academic Senate issued statements of support for revisions to BP 2.27 Smoking on Campus, a statement on maximum/minimum class size, and for support of students affected by the coup in Myanmar.

Calling Candidates for Academic Senate:  Faculty interested in serving on the Academic Senate are encouraged to review the Effective Planning presentation and the Call for Candidates advertisement. Interested members should fill out the Google form to state their candidacy by April 14.

Career Education and Workforce Development “Career & Coffee Conversations:” Dean Andrea Vizenor and CTE Liaison Cassidy Ryan-White invite faculty to share ideas and opportunities for collaboration with workforce development and to take career and workforce development ideas to the next level.

Faculty are also welcome to join a Short-Term Workforce Training Planning Meeting on

The next Academic Senate meeting will be on March 18, 2021. Thank you for all that you do for our students.

Article by Leigh Anne Shaw


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *