Event host showcase gift basketsClassified, Academic Senate and the Administration hosted this year’s annual End-of-Year Celebration to the theme of “Into the Woods” on May 8.

Guests were treated to a fantastical hour and half of magical fun by their hosts, the ever loyal unicorn Amber Steele and the frightfully captivating Michele Haggar. Entertainment was provided by two extraordinary singers from Amber Steele’s courses.

In addition to the beautiful performances, the celebration featured a drawing for baskets donated by various divisions, programs, and departments on campus! The proceeds, totaling $1,366 dollars will be going the Classified and Academic Senate Student Scholarships for 2019 for Skyline College students. This was over $200 dollars more then what we made last year.

This was a alo a time for us to recognize, say thanks, and congratulate our Classified Staff Retiree Lygia “Gigi” Isaacs, Office Assistant II for Center for International Trade Development. Her supervisors, Tammy Robinson and Delisle Warden, her current supervisor, shared some kind words and that she will be sorely missed. Aileen Conmigo, Financial Aid Technical Support Specialist, and Wendy Lum, IT Support Technician II, received this year’s Classified Staff Special Recognition Award for their dedication and sincere efforts to support students and their colleagues. Both these individuals are exemplary in what they do and are excellent representations of just how dedicated Classified Staff members are to the success of this college on all levels. Thank you again, to Aileen and Wendy.

The celebration did not stop there. Academic Senate President Kate Brown took time to recognize and announce the retirement of Eric Brenner and Paul Spakowski. Both of these individuals dedicated years of their lives to students and worked diligently and with heart to meet the needs of the faculty and staff around them. It was also announced that Eric would serve as this year’s Faculty Marshall for the 2018 Commencement Ceremony. Kate also announced that Mustafa Popal and Carla Grandy were this year’s winner of the Meyer Excellent in Teaching Award. This award recognizes the contributions of a faculty member in their first five years of hiring who demonstrate excellence in teaching, on/off campus activities, and overall collegiality. And Danielle Powell received this year’s State Academic Senate California Community College Regina Stanback Stroud Diversity Award, an honor given to faculty who have made special contributions addressing issues involving diversity. All three instructors represent at the core the mission, vision, and values of Skyline College. Again, congratulations instructors! Kate also announced the Academic Senate’s Election results:

General Election Results (Executive Council [2-year terms])

President – Kate Williams Browne, Vice-President – Jesse Raskin, Secretary – Terrence Chang,

Treasurer – Mustafa Popal

Academic Senate Officers [1-year terms]

Standing committee chairs: Curriculum Committee – Adam Windham & Jessica Hurless; Ed Policy – Nathan Jones;

Professional Personnel – Rika Fabian

Representative Groups

Adjunct- Barbara Corzonkoff & Lisa Cresson; CTE- Ronda Wimmer

Division Election Results:

ASLT—Bianca Rowden-Quince; BEPP—Richard (Dick) Claire and Dan Ming; Counseling—Courtney Mogg and Richard Torres; Language Arts—Chris Gibson and Jarrod Feiner; KAD—Amber Steele and Gabe Saucedo; SSCA—John Ulloa and Bridget Fischer; SMT—Jing Folsom and Carla Grandy.

Last but certainly not least, our esteemed president, Dr. Regina Stanback Stroud presented the President’s Excellence in Leadership Award to Andrea Vizenor, Director of Career and Workforce Program for the significant impact she has made at Skyline College.

The event was well attended and a great success! The organizational team would like to thank the many hands that assisted in putting together this fun celebration. Thank you to EVERYONE that put efforts toward the donation baskets, to those who assisted in the selling of the drawing tickets, and to those that purchased them. This event would not have been as great as it was without everyone’s participation and support. Thanks also goes to our Pacific Dining Services for arranging the catering for the event, to Annie Trinh and Linda Bertellotti for scheduling the rooms, and to facilities for room setup/ cleanup. A special thanks to Theresa Tentes for also ensuring our program stayed on track.

Again, thank you to all!

Article by Michele Haggar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *